2010 Award Winners

07 December 2010
Back to news list
2010 Award Winners

The British Fashion Council is delighted to announce Phoebe Philo, Creative Director of Celine as the winner of the prestigious British Designer of the Year Award.  Eleven other leading fashion figures were also honoured at the 2010 British Fashion Awards held this evening at The Savoy Hotel and Theatre, London.    
Hosted by presenter Claudia Winkleman, the ceremony saw designers, models, fashion editors and stylists, and industry VIPs joined by a glamorous line-up of guests and presenters, including Naomi Campbell, Victoria Beckham, Thandie Newton, Claudia Schiffer, Yasmin Le Bon and Alexa Chung.     
The Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator went to renowned stylist, Nicola Formichetti whose unique vision, style and insight has had an incredible impact on the fashion industry internationally. He holds significant roles at aspirational high street and high end fashion brands, editorial roles at influential UK and international titles; V Magazine, Dazed and Confused, Another and Vogue Hommes Japan, and is stylist to the legendary pop icon of this generation, Lady Gaga. Nicola is currently Creative Director at Thierry Mugler in addition to consultanting for a number of leading global brands including Alexander McQueen, Prada, D&G and Missoni, working on their image, campaigns, business strategy and marketing processes.    
Decided entirely by public vote, the British Style award recognises an individual who embodies the spirit of London and is an international ambassador for London as a leading creative fashion capital was awarded to Alexa Chung.

The Designer Brand award, which recognises a leading British designer who has excelled and made an impact on the international stage over the past year was awarded to Mulberry.
Patrick Grant collected the Menswear Designer award for his label E. Tautz. The award recognises a leading British designer of ready-to-wear and bespoke tailoring who has been instrumental in enhancing men’s fashion over the last year.     
The Emerging Talent Awards for Ready-to-Wear and Accessories, conceived two years ago by the British Fashion Council, recognise and financially rewards designers as they establish their emerging fashion businesses. Meadham Kirchhoff won the Ready-to-Wear award in this category and Husam El Odeh collected the award for Accessories.     
Lara Stone, following on from her being appointed the face of Calvin Klein earlier in the year, collected the Model award. In December 2009, the British - Dutch model featured on the cover of British Vogue as ‘The Girl of the Year’ photographed by Mario Testino and was made Models.com Number One on the Top 50 List in February 2010.     
Previous Emerging Talent Award and leading British footwear designer Nicholas Kirkwood collected the Accessory Designer award. Nicholas who has created shoes for Ghost, John Rocha, Erdem and Rodarte was recently appointed Creative Director of the celebrated Italian footwear label Pollini.     
Four time winner of British Designer of the Year award, Lee Alexander McQueen received the award for Outstanding Achievement in Fashion Design in recognition for his extraordinary career. Revered globally for his fabulous tailoring, exciting, innovative and outrageous style on and off the runway, McQueen will be remembered as the most innovative and influential fashion designer of his generation.

Two new exciting award categories have been added to the list of awards; Special Recognition and Digital Innovation. The former was awarded to supermodel Naomi Campbell and recognises Naomi’s influence on, and contribution to, the fashion industry over the last 25 years, during which time she has been a hugely influential ambassador for British fashion. Digital marketing innovator Burberry was presented with the Digital Award. The brand has pioneered several digital initiatives such as streaming all its fashion shows online since September 2009 and launching its Autumn/Winter 2010 collection as a fully interactive, motion-responsive experience. This award was voted for by the BFC Digital Committee.

Harold Tillman CBE, Chairman, British Fashion Council commented, “This year’s British Fashion Awards winners represent extraordinary talent, encompassing the best new and established designers, brands, stylists, models and innovators on all platforms of fashion. The British Fashion Awards celebrates excellence driven by this country’s thriving creativity and originality, something that we’re very proud to be a part of.”

Selection Panel
Winners (including video)

Image: Left to right - Yasmin Le Bon, Husam El Odeh, Patrick Grant, Edward Enninful, Naomi Campbell.